February’s Sweater: The Plivver in Plum

I guess it’s fair to say that February’s Sweater is in fact a vest.  Seemed like a sweater to me, just without sleeves, but I’ve learned that’s technically what a vest is.  Ah well, second month in and I’m already changing the rules.

I did choose this sleeveless sweater pattern because I was worried about not having quite enough yardage.  I wanted to use this lovely hand-dyed Araucania yarn that I’ve had for a few years, languishing, waiting for its project.  I thought February might be a time to let it shine.

It is a thicker weight than what the Plivver pattern called for, so I adjusted the pattern, doing fewer lace repeats to make up for my larger gauge.  Irony is that in the end I still have plenty of yarn left and probably could have picked a sweater pattern with sleeves, alas I’m still figuring it all out.  And I’m happy to have this vest anyhow.February's Pliver

This was a great pattern from Gudrun Johnston, Plivver, one of the 10 patterns in her book Shetland Trader.  I’ve made a few other projects from her book, all incorporate a bit of Shetland Lace or traditional Shetland construction.  It’s a fantastic pattern book and I imagine that I will eventually make my way through nearly all of the patterns in there.

The Shetland Trader by Gudrun Johnston

This vest began with a cast-on that alternated between long tail cast-on and twisted German cast-on.  I had never used this type of cast-on before, but I think it gives the rib a more finished look and helps it remain more snug, rather than flaring outwards.  It also gives the ribs a slightly scalloped look.

German Twisted Cast-On Ribbing alternating with Long Tail Cast-On

The body of the vest was knit in a “bead lace” pattern and was then finished with a 2×2 ribbed neck and armholes.

Collar & Armhole detail

Overall I’m satisfied with how it turned out and have been enjoying the added warmth of the new Plivver in my wardrobe.

Detail of Pliver

Update: March’s Sweater, is indeed a “sweater,” and it’s coming along nicely.  Just started the sleeves, it’s bright and colorful, it appears to be dreaming of Spring, even if the thermometer read just 18 degrees this morning.

6 thoughts on “February’s Sweater: The Plivver in Plum

  1. Love It! Great color too! I’m looking forward to the next project post.
    And, I’m very happy to have found your blog again 🙂 Happy Spring to you both!
    Shelly

Leave A Reply

