Happiest Surprise of the Day

Surprise Jazz Festival Parade

Just as I was walking out of the Bonus grocery market I stumbled into a boisterous and lovable Jazz parade.

Reykjavik Jazz Festival

Reykjavik Jazz Festival

Jazz Festival

Jazz Festival

It was great to see everyone’s surprise and delight as the musicians passed by.

Parade Watchers

Parade Watchers

People just kept following them through the streets, it was hard to turn away.

Take a listen, I guarantee it will make you smile.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0Qmsa7-DEA

Tomorrow morning I leave Reykjavik, heading out of the city and in to the countryside for the first time.  It’s a mixed blessing, I could use at least three more days here, but for better or worse I’ve got places to be and people to see and so I’m off!

I’ve got some exciting things ahead and I am curious to be out in the landscape a bit more…maybe even find some down time to explore and actually get in some of these hot pots I keep hearing about.

But I have so loved my time here, and Reykjavik’s unique charm.

Reykjavik under construction

Reykjavik under construction

The Sun Voyager

The Sun Voyager

Now it’s time to meet these guys in real life!

Felted Elves

Felted Elves

And since I’ve been stringing all the fiber lovers along, I’ll share a couple more images of some yarn goodness.

Here’s something I hadn’t seen before: yarn made from paper, a product from Finland, a country rich in trees.

Paper Yarn from Finland...now coming to Alaska

Paper Yarn from Finland…now coming to Alaska

It’s neat how traveling gives you access not just to the country you are in but to all the countries they import from and are influenced by.  For example, I might or might not have also bought Norwegian rubber shoes yesterday. Think xtra tuff for the Scandanavian world…but in a low top.

Okay, just a little more hand-knits, this place is really busting at the seams with knitted items.  I had never seen this one before, apparently they are quite popular on New Year’s Eve.  Might be a good idea for AK!

Ragga with Knit Mitten Coozy

Ragga with Knit Mitten Coozy

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Happiest Surprise of the Day

  1. Wow, very nice, and interesting. I have learned something new, – paper yarn, a first for me.
    I love the felted Elves, they would look so very cute sitting on someones computer, reminding one of snow and christmas all year. 😉

  2. I think we can make the beer holders, I looked at them carefully and asked a few questions…I was thinking you might need to develop a LTAB knittable logo for them…As for the elves I’ll see what I can do!

Leave A Reply

