This All Happened Today

Sunset over Borgarnes

Sunset over Borgarnes

Well except this, this happened last night on my way to the campground.

But all of this, it happened today.

Hraunfossar before 8am

Hraunfossar before 8am

Then I ran into these guys on a hike.

Sheep on the Fell (that's pronounce fet-lah..sort of )

Sheep on the Fell (that’s pronounce fet-lah..sort of )

That had desolate views like this.

Up the Ravine from Husafell

Up the Ravine from Husafell

And some lovely Icelandic poppies…I grabbed some seed pods to try in the garden.

Poppies in Iceland

Poppies in Iceland

I found some low growing blueberries and added them to my morning Skyr as I wandered around the grounds of Husafell.

It's berry season here too!

It’s berry season here too!

There is a church that has stood on the same grounds for the last 1000 years.  It was quite a powerful place.

Husafell Church

Husafell Church

And the carved rocks only made it more special.

IMG_1579

And this all happened by 10am.  I had a dip at my first hot pot/swimming pool where I’m sure I broke all sorts of cultural norms by taking my shoes off a the wrong time and getting wet feet in the dressing room, alas there are no photos of that but it was good to warm up after a windy morning.

Then some backroads.  I was mostly successful at not driving off the road, it’s dangerous because you want to look in every direction but ahead.

IMG_1592I made it to the Goat Farm and that was so amazing it deserves a post or three of it’s own.

Molli & her father

Molli & her father

All I’ll say is that I adopted a goat for Heath & I, but we don’t get to bring it home, it keeps living in Iceland but we help support it.

IMG_1770I picked Molli because she liked me…but this Little Man was also very sweet.

IMG_1630This is Johanna, the woman who has saved this goat breed, she has quite a special story, I’ll tell you once my days return to normal amounts of fullness.

Johanna of Haafell

Johanna of Haafell

So all to leave you with is

Deildartunguhver

Deildartunguhver

the largest geothermal spot in the world, producing 180 liters of boiling water per second with a total production capacity of 62 megawatts.  I left that last detail in for my husband and any Science Clubbers who might be reading this.

Borgarnes

Borgarnes

So this is where I’m at now, desperately charging my camera battery while my computer is on 10% battery left.  Done with dinner and getting ready to drive for a bit to head to the Snaefells Peninsula.

In case you were wondering...

In case you were wondering…

See you soon!

7 thoughts on “This All Happened Today

    • Molli is your goat’s name and I picked a female so we won’t get to eat it. But when we come back you could purchase some goat and eat one of her siblings.

Leave A Reply

