Lilies & Lace

I planted two Stargazer Lily plants in the garden back in mid-June and I was sure they would bloom while I was gone..but they waited!

Stargazers bloom on August 27th!

Stargazers bloom on August 27th

Two flowers opened with the sun today.  I am loving their vibrant colors.

Ready for more blooms

Ready for more blooms

Since arriving home and unpacking my Icelandic goodies I am most excited about my new paper yarn from Finland.  Heath made me some knitting needles out of a dowel so that I have something bigger to work with.  I’ve just cast on.

Lace Knitting with Paper Yarn

Lace Knitting with Paper Yarn

I’m planning on making a classic Old Shale Lace pattern and knitting until I run out of yarn.  I want to create something textural for our bedroom…maybe something to drape from the ceiling or on the wall over the bed.

Has anyone knit with this stuff before?  Internet searching didn’t yield very many ideas or images.  If you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments, I’d love to hear!

Leave A Reply

